I’m Stronger than the acid he threw at me! (Poem)

There came a stranger, walking towards me,
With a drink in his hand, starring at me

He approached me and asked me out,
I said, “no” with no doubt

Then, he just threw liquid at me,
Liquid he had held in his hand, he just threw it at my face and ran away from me

Why would a stranger do that?
Did I unknowingly hurt his ego? I dont know that

Oh god! my face! What’s happening to me?
Why is this silly liquid penetrating so deep inside flesh in me?

Oh god! It has set fire deep till my bones,
Somebody please help me, I can’t handle this on my own!

I was burning in fire nobody could see,
Screaming, begging for help to kill me and set me free!

Why would any human ever do that to another?
It was acid he threw at me cried my father and mother

Why???
May be because I committed crime saying no
Or
May be because I was beautiful and I needed life lesson for being beautiful
Or
May be beacause he wanted to satisfy his 5mins of anger by watching me suffer for rest of my life
Or
Say because he knew he could never get me

Am I not a human?
I don’t think I was considered as a human

Because, I wasn’t treated like one,
Because, several surgeries made me numb one by one

Now, somehow I’m showcasing a smile on my scarful face proving I’m strong,
To inspire many other victims out there to be strong

What’s the change done?
Where’s the difference made?

There’s difference in number of acid victims. Well, they’ve increased.
And difference in acid attackers, now more acid they secreat.

My story is been published,
My incident has just added up to the existing list

I’m different now, I look not a bit like I used to,
6 years, since my eyes, my face, my body were destroyed, yet its hard to get used to

Some people call me beautiful sometimes,
Don’t call me that, I’m a survivor and I’m surving, remember that and remind me that everytime

Don’t dare to say you feel me,
You don’t and I pray you ever won’t feel me

Don’t stare at me or my scars with tears in your eyes,
I’m stronger than the acid which gave me scars, see it in my eyes

That incident made me reborn!

I’ve reborn, with new dream, new vision, new hope, new purpose, new belief and lastly new face

This new me isn’t afraid of any acid now!
This me isn’t afraid of any more physical and mental pain, I’m much much stronger now!

8 thoughts on “I’m Stronger than the acid he threw at me! (Poem)

  1. “Don’t dare to say you feel me,
    You don’t and I pray you ever won’t feel me
    “Don’t stare at me or my scars with tears in your eyes,
    I’m stronger than the acid which gave me scars, see it in my eyes..”

    Punished for someone else’ bloated ego and pride, Its not sympathy the acid attack victims need… its support and acceptance… its their right to live with dignity… And its the society’s duty to ensure that their rights are not violated.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Why would any human do that to another? It remains unanswered. The mental and physical pain they go through is extreme. They are so much stronger than us. They don’t need sympathy at all. Very well written sara

    Liked by 2 people

  3. Acid attack victims are subjected to a life time of pain and agony just because they dared to say no. And their attackers roam free without any shame or guilt. Very well written…Bravo!

    Like

Leave a Reply

